What are you thinking?

Your thoughts reflect your actions. To change your actions, you need to change your thoughts.

“With Christ in the vessel

I can smile at the storm.” 

These lyrics to a song I recently heard has been going through my mind today. Over and over. Without noticing, I even started humming the tune.

“With Christ in the vessel

I can smile at the storm.

Until He takes me home.”

These words comfort me. It reminds me that I can face the storms of life when Christ is in me (the vessel). Thinking about my day, I had a very pleasant mood throughout it. Yes, not-so-pleasant stuff happened, but I didn’t feel afraid or threatened by them as I usually would have. I felt content and at peace if I can say it like that. I believe this song -those words- being in my thoughts played a part in that. Our minds and hearts are what control our every move.

“Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.” –Proverbs 4:23 ESV 

What we think directly reflects in our behaviour and attitude. 

This lead me to ask myself a question: How much time do I waste filling my mind with earthly things? To be honest probably too much. I mean we are so caught up in this world and its things that we don’t realise what we are doing. If having a song of praise stuck in my head influenced my mood so much, how much more would a positive and thankful heart and mind affect my life?

But we all know that it is not that easy… just to having positive thoughts and be thankful through the storm. Our flesh is weak. That is why we need to pray for strength and we need to fight the constant battle between our flesh and our spirit. This battle can only be won when you surrender to the Holy Spirit and choose God’s truth over your circumstances, emotions and the enemy’s lies.

“Watch and pray, that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” – Matthew 26:41 ESV

“For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.” – Romans 8:6 ESV

If we live with negative thoughts, earthly desires and even fill our minds with music/movies/books etc. that does not honor God, it will be reflected in our actions and attitudes. We have received a direct order to set our minds on things above and not to conform to the things of this world.

“Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.” -Colossians 3:2 ESV

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” – Romans 12:2 ESV




Leave a Reply

